This is the "Home" page of the "HLTH 334: Consumer Education in Health" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HLTH 334: Consumer Education in Health  

A guide to resources for students in Professor Nancy Stevens' Spring Semester 2010 Consumer Education in Health class
Last Updated: Jul 26, 2012 URL: http://iwc.libguides.com/hlth334 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Location Off-Campus Link on Library Homepage

You can also access library resources from the Chadwick Homepage without using this LibGuide...

Go to http://chadwick.iwc.edu/

Pull down Quick Links arrow and choose:

 IWC Off-Campus

 

Home Page Off-Campus link

 

The Place to Start...

Welcome to the HLTH 334 Consumer Education in Health Research Guide!

 

This guide has been designed to provide you with resources for the assignments regarding...

analyzing an advertisement and infomerical, locating an academic and popular magazine with information about the same topic, using PowerPoint and Publisher, finding information for your class presentation, and searching for quality health websites

In addition you can also find information about citing the sources you use in your papers and presentations.  

Feel free to follow the tabs in order, or choose those that best fit your needs for the assignment you are working on. 

Access to Library Materials Using a LibGuide

The Chadwick Home Page: Your Gateway to Quality Info Sources... 

 

 Besides those in hardcopy, the Library owns online databases of reference materials (encyclopdedias, dictionaries, etc.), electronic books, and articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers. 

Library-purchased databases are available only to current IWC students unless used in the Library or computer labs.  An IWC username and password is required to access these resources from any other location.   

When using this guide, you will see two links for each database.  

LibraryDoor

Choose the on-campus link if you are using this LibGuide in the Library or one of the computer labs in the Science Hall.

Click the off-campus link if you are accessing databases in the dorms or in other locations.

 

Databases Vs. Web

It is important to understand the differences between library databases and the web...

They are highlighted below:

Library Databases The Web
Only for authorized users (IWC students) Anyone can use
Costs the Library thousands of dollars Mostly free
Articles from magazines, journals, newspapers as well as reference books and electronic books Websites
Organized and indexed for retrieval of specific information (often full-text online) on a topic Long list of unorganized links with many being irrelevant
Search can be focused in precise ways:  subject, date, type of source, peer-reviewed, etc. Search by keyword with limited focus capabilities
Can search for quality articles written by experts in their fields Info can be written and put on the web by anyone
Citation info given Citation info not always available
Date given May not say when site was created or updated
Can search for authoritative and accurate info checked by experts May purport to be true, but in reality may be biased, unreliable, or even inaccurate
Purpose to advance knowledge or scholarship Purpose of site may be no more than to sell a product
Even with a bias, may often be used for scholarly research Requires caution and careful evaluation when using for academic purposes

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Sherril Gibbs
Contact Info
Chadwick Library
319.385.6318
Send Email
 

LibGuide "Tech Specs"

A LibGuide is optimally viewed using the Firefox browser from Mozilla

In order to view/use a LibGuide you may need to:

  1. Check resolution of your screen
  2. Update to the latest version of your browser

To set screen resolution:

  • My Computer
  • Control Panel
  • Display
  • Settings tab
  • Set Screen Resolution slider to 1024 X 768 pixels
  • Make sure Color Quality is set to highest (32 bit)

If using Internet Explorer, version update to 7.0 is recommended!

  • Launch Internet Explorer
  • Click Help
  • Click About Internet Explorer
  • Version of Explorer will be displayed

To set your computer to automatically update to latest version of Internet Explorer:

  • Tools
  • Internet Options
  • In General Tab find Browsing History and click Settings
  • nder Check for Newer Version of Stored Pages click button for Every Time I Visit the Webpage 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip